Becoming a florida Real Estate Pro!
Before deciding to become a Florida Real Estate Professional understand what it actually takes to become a Florida Real Estate Professional. Anyone who wants to launch a career in Real Estate to start earning commissions need to beware! More than half of all applicants fail the exam the first time. This may be due to an underestimation of Florida's Real Estate Laws and Rules. Therefore, we hope this helps you on your journey to become a Florida Real Estate Pro!
Real Estate Pre Licensing Education
You must be 18 years of age and already have a High School Diploma or equivalent education. You must complete a 63-hour pre-licensing course approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC). After completing the course, you must pass the End of Course Exam with a score of at least 70%. The End of Course Exam is not the official Licensing Exam. However, the end of course exam is required to complete the Real Estate Pre Licensing Course. The course is good for two (2) years from the date of completion. This means the DBPR allows up to 2 years after completing the 63 hour pre licensing course before requiring you to retake the course.
63 Hour Pre License Education Exemptions:
If you hold a 4 year degree, or higher, in real estate you may be exempt from the pre-license education requirement.
Attorneys in good standing with the Florida Bar are exempt from the 63-hour sales associate pre-licensure course. Such attorneys seeking licensure as a sales associate should be certain to include their Florida Bar license number and information in Section III of the Florida Real Estate application.
Open a DBPR Application
You also must open an application with the DBPR. You may submit application for state exam approval prior to taking the pre-license education. There is no clear order of steps for completing your Real Estate Application. The DBPR allows you to open an application, submit requirements and pay fees at your convenience.
Sales Associate Application Fee: $62.75 (source)
Mutual Recognition for Non Florida Residents:
Florida offers Mutual Recognition with 10 State. Non Resident Applicants must hold a valid, current and active real estate license, in good standing, issued by the Real Estate licensing agency in the Mutual Recognized State from which the applicant is applying.
Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nebraska, Rhode Island and West Virginia. Brokers and Sales Associates can qualify for an equivalent type license in Florida if they meet the following qualifications:
- Must be 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
- Applicant must not be a resident of Florida (living outside of Florida for the previous 4 months ), at time of application.
- Qualified Mutual recognition Applicants are exempt from the 63 Hour Pre licensing Education, but must complete a 40 question Exam valued at 1pt. each and 30 points is passing.
- 45 Hour Sales Associate Post licensing and continuing Education still applies.
You also need to complete Fingerprints & Background Checks by an Authorized FDLE Livescan Provider. If you are in the Central Florida area you can Schedule your FDLE Live Scan & Fingerprints right here! Blu Street is a FDLE Live Scan Provider. You may self schedule Mon. - Fri. at your convenience from 9am - 7pm. Your fingerprints will be electronically submitted to the FDLE. For this reason, you need to provide your ORI number. Your ORI number is needed for the FDLE to submit your results to the DBPR. It is the FDLE who submits your results to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR). If you are unsure of your ORI number, you may check here!
Self Reporting Criminal History to the DBPR
Honesty and good character is part getting an approval. Therefore it is important that you follow the State Criminal Self Reporting Guidelines. We are all people with a past headed towards a future. The State is not here to stand in your way. If your past isn't something that threatens the general welfare of the public, there is a chance you will be approved. Nonetheless, you will get an answer. So on your application when you are asked about your background be honest and forthcoming.
Ultimately, you are not alone in this. Anyone who obtains a Real Estate License is subject to the Self Reporting Criminal History Law. Section 455.227(1)(t), Florida Statutes mandates this. The DBPR expects any Licensee (Person who holds a Florida Real Estate License) to Mail a Letter to the Department of Business & Professional Regulation | 2601 Blair Stone Rd. |Tallahassee Florida, 32399.
After you complete all of the application steps, the DBPR they will verify that you qualify. There is no clear order of steps for completing your Real Estate Application. The DBPR allows you to open an application, submit requirements and pay fees at your convenience. No one gets an approval to sit for the Real Estate State Exam without the DBPR Approval.
Scheduling your State Exam
The Florida Real Estate State Exam is given by Pearson Vue. To Learn more visit their website to find a location near you to set up your exam once the application has been approved by the DBPR. The Candidate Information Booklet is a useful source to help guide you through the examination process. State Exam Fees can be found here. To pass the State Exam, you need a score of 75% or better.
It is important to note that you will need to complete 45 hours of post-licensing education within your first renewal period to maintain your license. Each renewal period will be stated on The Florida Real Estate License.